The Nature of Discovery…A little scary, a little beautiful.

This is a bit of a departure from my typical post. – no adorable babies, no bright shining faces, no pretty products, yet here are a few images of which I am quite fond – for very different reasons.  I’ve been looking forward to our little day trip into the city for a few weeks now.  Stuck behind my desk wrapping up year-end administrative tasks, I have not been able to pursue the “non-work” variety photography excursions I enjoy.  (My aesthetic for personal photography projects is a bit more gritty than for my portrait work…but more on that another time!)  Today, I was going to get a quick taste of what I had been missing.  Tiny Assistant got the trip to the museum and I got the walk around the city.  Well, what is it they say about the best laid plans?  Turns out, even with her overwhelming excitement for the “Big Dig” at The Academy of Natural Sciences, something in her was a bit stronger…about an hour into our field trip, Tiny Assistant got sick and just had to go home.  End of the outing, sad faces all around.

During the first 40 sickness-free minutes we were there, however, I was drawn in by the museum’s “Academy at 200: The Nature of Discovery” exhibit.  An eighty foot wall showcases highlights from the Academy’s 18 million piece collection – rare specimens, beautiful, scary, big and small. It was fabulous!  While I wish we could have stayed around Logan Square much longer, these few images will have to hold me over for now. We’ll definitely head back to the museum again soon when Tiny Assistant is feeling better…

bcm art & photography 2013

bcm art & photography 2013

The Narwhal - bcm art & photography 2013

The Narwhal – bcm art & photography 2013

bcm art & photography 2013

bcm art & photography 2013

bcm art & photography 2013

bcm art & photography 2013

bcm art & photography 2013

bcm art & photography 2013

 

bcm art & photography 2013

bcm art & photography 2013

A little scary, a little beautiful…I find that most things worth looking at are always both.

Enjoy your afternoon!

~Beth
http://www.bcmnotes.com

2 comments

  1. Great photos. What are those things in jars in the last one? Eels?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
