2012 Year in Pictures

A few days ago, I posted “The Year in Portraits”.  The past twelve months was filled with growth and learning experiences for my small company. I truly love to capture the smiles on the faces of my portrait clients. I also love to capture images from the environment through which we travel everyday…more of a candid “portrait” method: the colors and composition of architecture, hidden treasures of a basement or a brief moment in a stranger’s day. Some might depict obvious beauty while others present a more gritty or weathered aesthetic.  All give a brief glimpse of what has captured my attention. Here are my favorite images from 2012:

1.  A Quick Moment at Long Life – Rounding the corner between Chinatown and the Reading Terminal Market, I stopped Tiny Assistant in her tracks to snap this image. It was a second of time from their conversation – the woman offering a pleasant smile as we passed her moments later.

2012 Year in Pictures ~ bcm art & photography

2012 Year in Pictures ~ bcm art & photography

2. Hearts & Hardware  – Taken just outside a local hardware store in Chestnut Hill, I love how the reflection of the decorative hearts from the adjacent window display places with the wood and metal hardware.

2012 Year in Pictures ~ bcm art & photography

2012 Year in Pictures ~ bcm art & photography

3. Window on the World – A mural on the side of a building in Phoenixville. Great colors along with a pleasing composition of the painting over the wall elements.

2012 Year in Pictures - bcm art & photography

2012 Year in Pictures – bcm art & photography

4. Patina – An old fishing boat was on blocks by the Barnegat Bay. Boasting a thick coating of barnacles, the surface of the boat’s hull had been weathered by the water and salt air leaving an expected “painted” surface.

2012 Year in Pictures - bcm art & photography

2012 Year in Pictures – bcm art & photography

5. Produce Market – Perhaps one of my top three favorites from 2012. As we were strolling around Chinatown in late February, this produce market was filled with eye candy for both of us. Tiny Assistant loved checking out the Asian vegetables and I just loved the entire scene.

2012 Year in Pictures - bcm art & photography

2012 Year in Pictures – bcm art & photography

6. Under the Surface 2 – A revisit to the site of my inspiration image…I first photographed this site in 2010, returning this year curious if I would “see” it any differently.  I did and I fell in love with it all over again.

2012 Year in Pictures - bcm art & photography

2012 Year in Pictures – bcm art & photography

7. Men at Work – This image was taken through a store window. The reflections were striking and clear.

2012 Year in Pictures - bcm art & photography

2012 Year in Pictures – bcm art & photography

8. Window Shopping – Also taken in Phoenixville, I just love the variety of items in this window, especially the cat!

2012 Year in Pictures - bcm art & photography

2012 Year in Pictures – bcm art & photography

9. Reading Terminal Market – So much to eat, so much to see!

2012 Year in Pictures - bcm art & photography

2012 Year in Pictures – bcm art & photography

10. The Millhouse – Savoring the last few days of warmth this Fall, the Millhouse located at the Morris Arboretum sat in the middle of a field of purple and gold.

2012 Year in Pictures - bcm art & photography

2012 Year in Pictures – bcm art & photography

11. Price Per Gallon – Standing proudly in the grass behind a set of stores in Lansdale, the old gas pump was a wonderful site – I love machines and this one was a beauty!

2012 Year in Pictures - bcm art & photography

2012 Year in Pictures – bcm art & photography

12. Untitled – Simple and striking. The light hit the concrete in just the right way and the river reflections added just a bit of texture.

Untitled-1b

2012 Year in Pictures – bcm art & photography

13. Madness – This is a composite image. One photo taken outdoors under a highway overpass and one taken in a store basement.

2012 Year in Pictures - bcm art & photography

2012 Year in Pictures – bcm art & photography

14. Untitled – This image has not been previously posted on any of my sites, social media or otherwise. At first, I wasn’t sure how I felt about the moment. But after looking back, I’ve grown quite fond of it. It is a real moment, captured quickly as we rounded the corner from the restrooms in the Reading Terminal Market.  I had Tiny Assistant’s hand in mine with a purse, bag and camera on my other arm – I am pretty sure I twisted myself around so as not to drop anything while I snapped a quick shot.

2012 Year in Pictures - bcm art & photography

2012 Year in Pictures – bcm art & photography

15. Carousel – To close out the set,the carousel from the Please Touch Museum. I am a huge fan of carousels and this one did not disappoint!

2012 Year in Pictures - bcm art & photography

2012 Year in Pictures – bcm art & photography

I am looking forward to discovering much more inspiration this new year!  Thanks for viewing…let me know what you think below…which image is your favorite? Which do you find most striking? Most unpleasant? A total miss? I would love to hear from you!

Enjoy your day.

~ Beth
http://www.bcmnotes.com

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
