2011 Featured Images: Broadway

In stark contrast to the photographic aesthetic I enjoy most, I am not a city girl.  For the purposes of daily living, comfort and a desire to be surrounded by open spaces and greenery, suburban, if not rural, settings are for me.  However, urban architecture, design and the city pace provide a much more exciting visual palette of inspiration.  And the more I seem to look around, the more I really see.  So I visit.  Just for a day, possibly two and soak in the city goodness, returning happily to suburbia to process the images that caught my eye.  On a quick visit to New York this spring, I found the varying textures and colors framed in this crop of the street corner to fulfill much of my wish list for an image: Strong lines, interesting texture, simple and bold color.  An “ordinary” street corner became my favorite image from this short visit.

~Beth
www.bcmnotes.com

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
